Tie for top award as the WAAFL celebrates 2017Thursday, August 31, 2017 - 11:29 AM

On Wednesday 30 August over 800 players, officials and VIP’s packed the new Crown Ballroom to celebrate the 96th WA Amateur Football League Season.

One of the biggest nights on the WAAFL calendar sees the football guernsey’s swapped for suits as the league recognises those who have excelled throughout the year.

This year’s presentation saw a tie for the CJ Jamieson Medal as the A Grade Best and Fairest player. University’s Hamish Murray and Fremantle CBC’s Christopher Basile claiming the top award with twenty votes for the season.

While Hamish is a first-time winner of the A Grade award, Chris makes it back to back wins.

Hamish was leading the count with one round to go however a best on ground performance by Chris in round eighteen saw the award tied for the first time since 2004.

Chris polled votes across eight rounds including five best on ground performances while Hamish had an impressive season polling in seven rounds with six of those performances rewarded with full votes from the umpires.

Scarborough’s Joel Ashman, Kalamunda’s Sean Fletcher and Wembley’s Benjamin Noakes all finished as runners up on 19 votes while 2015 winner Bradley Nisbett from West Coast polled well again finishing in third place with 18 votes.

Andrew Vawser from Hamersley Carine won the TR Howard Medal as the B Grade best and fairest polling votes across twelve matches including four best on ground performances.

Kingsley’s Andrew Fisher created history becoming the first person in C1 Grade to win the award in three consecutive years.

The NK Donaldson medal for the Phil Scott Colts competition went to Ryan Donaldson from the University Football Club. After five best on ground performances Ryan won the award by three votes over West Coast’s Joshua Tucker.

The A Grade Leading Goal Kicker award went to Trinity Aquinas player Ryan Murphy who kicked 56 goals for the year, Ryan also won the award in 2015. For the second straight year Mt Lawley’s David McKinlay won the B Grade Leading Goal kicker award with 73 goals for the year.

The night not only honours the best and fairest players from the various grades but also recognises the achievements of clubs, administrators and coaches throughout the 2017 season.

The Ron Webster Memorial award for the senior champion club was awarded to Gosnells Football Club while the TK Naylor award for the Colts champion club was awarded to Canning Vale Football Club.

The champion club awards are calculated by both on and off field points with points awarded for each win, meeting attendance, payments, paperwork submitted on time. Points are deducted for send offs and for match day fines.

The LA Tetley award for best player of the 2017 State Program was awarded to Charlie Stapleton of University Football Club for his performance across all games and his attitude and leadership during the entire program. Joycelyn Smith from Secret Harbour Football Club won the administrator of the year while Darren Brealey won the Ken Armstrong Senior Community Coach of the year award.

This year we had three new inductees into the Hall of Champions which recognises the greatest WA Amateur Footballers or those legends of the game who started their careers in amateur football. This year we welcomed Brian Kiely from the North Beach Amateur Football Club and Andrew Piccoli from Wembley as Champions while Des Reed from Fremantle CBC was inducted as a High Achiever.

Congratulates to all this year’s winners as we wrap up another successful season of amateur football. 


Full List of Winners:

A Grade (CJ Jaimeson Medal) TIE

Hamish Murray



Christopher Basile

Fremantle CBC

A Reserves

Andrew O’Brien


B Grade (TR Howard Medal)

Andrew Vawser

Hamersley Carine

B Reserves

Robert Slowey

Hamersley Carine


Andrew Fisher


C1 Reserves

Joseph Schubert



Jayden Woods


C2 Reserves

Jake Roberts



Cameron Tilley

Coolbinia West Perth

C3 Reserves

Joseph Mahoney

Mosman Park


Jordan Walley

Cockburn Cobras

C4 Reserves (TIE)

Brett Mauer



Mark Chappell

Cockburn Cobras


Alex Hack

North Beach

D1 Reserves

Joe Boys

North Beach


Michael Furmark


D2 Reserves

Chris Dodd

Mt Lawley


James Depane

East Fremantle


Steven Quaglia

Swan Athletic


Matthew Hatch


PSC (N.K Donaldson Medal)

Ryan Donaldson



Campbell Putland

North Fremantle


Elliot Laurance



Scott Price

Canning Vale


Oskar Tothill

North Beach


Beaux Venables



Administrator of the Year: Joycelyn Smith- Secret Harbour

WAAFL Coach of the Year: Darren Brealey- Canning Vale

TK Naylor Award - Champion Colts Club: Canning Vale

Ron Webster- Champion Senior Club: Gosnells

Leading Goal Kicker B Grade- 73 Goals: David Mckinlay- Mt Lawley

Leading Goal Kicker A Grade- 56 Goals: Ryan Murphy- Trinity Aquinas

LA Tetley Award - Best Player of the State Programme: Charlie Stapleton- University

Midway Ford Club Umpire of the Year: Jim August

Midway Ford Panel Umpire of the Year: Jarrod Hodge


WAAFL Votes All Grades 2017