WAAFL Hall of Champions welcomes three new inductees Thursday, September 7, 2017 - 3:44 PM

On Wednesday August 30, the WAAFL hosted the eighth annual Hall of Champions function.

The Hall of Champions honours those individuals who have made long, significant and commendable contributions to the WAAFL, to help make it the strong and respected sporting body that it is today.

This year the WAAFL inducted three new members into the Hall of Champions.







Brian Kiely 

Player/ Coach/ Administrator

North Beach Amateur Football Club 

Brian Kiely was a foundation member of the North Beach Amateur Football Club in 1964 and played 227 games with the North Beach AFC from 1965-1981. 

Brian coached for seven years: 1966, 1967, 1969 and 1970 in D Grade, 1971 in C Grade, 1973 and 1974 in B Grade.

He was captain for seven years and won the North Beach fairest and best award in 1965, 1969, 1972, 1973 and 1978 as well as finishing as runner up on four occasions.

He won the WAAFL fairest and best player for D Grade in 1966 and 1969, C Grade in 1971, the B Grade in 1972 and the A2 medal in 1976, as well as finishing runner up on three occasions.

Brian won the best clubman award at North Beach in 1970 and 1972 and was made a life member of North Beach in 1972. He was vice president of the club from 1976-1979 and club president from 1980 - 1983.

Brian is inducted into the WAAFL Hall of Champions as a Champion.


Andrew Piccoli

Player/ Coach

Wembley Amateur Football Club 

Andrew Piccoli played 230 games for the Wembley Amateur Football Club from 2002- 2016. He was the A Grade captain from 2008-2013 winning the Wembley A Grade Fairest & Best in 2007 and 2011 as well as being runner up in the award in 2004, 2009 and 2012.

He was the Wembley league leading goal kicker in 2005, 2007, 2011, 2012 and 2013. Andrew was a premiership player for the Wembley B Grade team in 2005.

In 2007, he won the CJ Jaimeson Medal as the A Grade Best & Fairest player as well as the A Grade Leading Goal Kicker Award in the same year.

Andrew participated in the WAAFL State U23’s program in 2006 and 2007. He was rewarded with All Australian selection in both years as well as winning the LA Tetley Award as the best state player in 2007.

In 2012, Andrew won the TR Howard Medal as the B Grade Best and Fairest player as well as the B Grade leading goal kicker award. He was also runner up in the B Grade Best and Fairest in 2009 and 2011.

Andrew Piccoli is inducted into the WAAFL Hall of Champions as a Champion.


Des Reed

Player/Coach/ Administrator

Fremantle CBC Amateur Football Club

Des Reed played 200+ games for Fremantle CBC AFC. He was a captain/coach in 1956-1958, 1961-1962, 1964 and 1970.

He was a triple premiership player in the WAFL for South Fremantle in 1952, 1953 and 1954. 

Des was the inaugural premiership coach of the Fremantle CBC league side in 1961 and was made a life member of the club in the same year. Des served on the committee from 1960-1970.

Des was included in the Fremantle CBC 1960’s Team of the Decade and was a Hall of Fame Inductee of the club in 2010.

Des Reed is inducted into the WAAFL Hall of Champions as a High Achiever.